Peru Revisited

IMG_1520

Lima’s Coastline

IMG_1673

Mystic Sunrise at Machu Picchu

September 2008 was the last time I travelled internationally. I had  to prove to myself that I could travel alone to a foreign country knowing absolutely no one. I decided on Peru because of surf and Machu Picchu. I found a surfing family to stay with through wannasurf.com, and I booked Machu Picchu with Wayki Trek, an excursion company my friend recommended.

IMG_1514

Focus Surf Family at San Bartolo

Contrary to my fear of being possibly kidnapped or locked up in a foreign country for some stupid reason, traveling alone invited more hospitality than I ever expected. I had personal guides my entire stay in Peru from Lima to Cusco and Machu Picchu.

IMG_1688

Wayna Picchu

I love this trip because I diverted from my comfort zone and challenged myself.  I rode in a mini (bus) van going into Lima with 20-30 people literally packed like sardines with some hanging out of the door; this is one photo I wish I would have taken. I experienced one of the 7 Wonders of the World.  I climbed Wyana Picchu and lived! The mountain is 8,920 feet above sea level with death stairs leading up and down the face.  I survived without hot water. I surfed amazing point breaks, and made new friends along the way.  I’ll be back one day!

Leave a Reply

